stuck on nola

sometimes you visit a place and it sticks with you. you may know it right away. or it may surprise you later, after you’ve been removed from its streets and cafes and markets. but we’ve all been somewhere that lives inside us, no matter how far away we are, no matter whether we think we’ll ever make it back.

but oh, we will. we just have to. right?

for me, one of those places is new orleans. i think about it all the time, and not just because i have a tattoo on my wrist that i got while there this past summer. i mean, i think about it a lot.

the music.

the food.

the weather.

the smells.

the amazing architecture.

the people.

the streets.

the dancing.

yes. i admit it. i’m reminiscing. because i can. because i’ve been there and it now lives in me. so now … now i share.

i hope you look at these photos and smell the city. see its grittiness. taste its foods. hear its music.

indulge your senses with the big easy. because, quite frankly, it’s easy to do. it’s new orleans. and i love it for all its gritty, dirty, stinky charm.

i just do.

what spot on this lovely earth sticks with you? lives inside your heart? makes your soul happy?

3 thoughts on “stuck on nola

  1. The first time I stepped onto the streets of New Orleans I seriously got dizzy. I don’t really believe in past lives or whatever, but the feeling was “I’m home.” I can’t even describe it. I was 24 at the time and I had never been there (to my knowledge, no family member had ever been there either). But I was so comfortable. Everything was familiar.

    I’m right there with you, I love everything about it. I love the darkness, the gritty, the music, the dancing, the lonely happiness that comes right off the streets. I haven’t been since the hurricane, I was scared to see what it had done to my city. But I really want to go back. Thank you for sharing!

    Did you go to any of the cemeteries?

    • Hey, Kendra! Yes. I did go to the cemeteries the first time I was in New Orleans, but not on this most recent visit. I absolutely could lose myself there. For hours. All day. Every nook and cranny in the cemeteries is unique, full of history, interesting. I love cemeteries, though, so it makes sense for me to love it there. I can’t wait to get back to the city. And you should go. I was never there BEFORE Katrina. I’d love to get out to some of the areas hit hardest to take photos … there are still empty lots, supposedly still piles of trees, etc. But overall, the city has bounced back and according to many people I know from there, thriving even better than before the hurricane. 🙂 Thanks for your comment. Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

