it’s all about living at this point, y’all

It’s nothing new to hear someone say they’re trying to get in better shape beginning in January. And for that, I’m almost hesitant to even put it out there that I’m trying to focus a little more on me and my health right now. Seems so … predictable.

But this has nothing to do with New Year’s resolutions. Nothing to do with fitting into a bathing suit.

This has everything to do with being ALIVE when my kids graduate high school.

My last health screening was not great. It wasn’t even good.

Unfortunately for me, Type II diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and heart problems run in my family. On both sides. Yay! What odds are those! Not good ones.

I’ve always eaten bad, bad stuff. Used to have Coke IN MY BOTTLE as a kid. So it’s no surprise that I’m addicted to Coke now. Also ate tons of fast food growing up. And SURPRISE! I still crave it. Every day.

Long John Silvers? I WUV YOU.

So to get the bad news right there in black and white has been a wake-up call.

I’m in pre-diabetic hell, y’all. And it’s not looking good from here on out if I don’t do something drastic.

I’ve probably said it before, but I’ll say it again. It’s time to get off my ever-expanding butt.

That’s exactly why I signed up to do what I’ve dubbed the “crazy walk.” If you want to help me raise funds for this nutso adventure, please click here. Every single dollar raised will help a woman battle cancer. It’s a great cause.

It’s my motivation to get moving. To make a change. So I’m here. Healthy. Alive.

I’ve also subscribed to a GREAT magazine, Eating Well. Anyone trying to eat better and learn healthy habits should check out their site and start grabbing it either at the store or having it mailed. It’s great!

I also have these recent magazines to kick-start things:

And this one:

And this one, too:

Wish me luck. I’m going to need it. I’m hoping to lose at least 15 pounds. Possibly 20.

Here’s to walking and eating my way to better health-screening numbers!

Leave a Reply

