same topic. different day

It must be very hard to be married to me. I get on these kicks where I can’t get enough of something. You know, to the point of obsession. I even annoy myself sometimes.

But the biggest reason for my annoyance is the simple fact that I can’t figure out a way to stretch the day or to lengthen the weekends so I have more time to tackle my dreams and wishes. I have too many things on my to-do list, and not enough time, money or energy to make them happen. The passion is there, believe me. I just need to figure out how to make take at least a few of these things to the next level.

Here’s a quick look at just a few of the passions that have crawled into my brain, my heart and my soul and taken up residence. What’s a busy mom of three, who works full-time, on an opposite shift as her husband, to do?

When’s mama gonna get her dreams off the ground?

Photography
Everyone’s heard this one and it’s the same dream everyone has nowadays. With cameras so easily accessible and so easy to use, everyone’s a freakin’ photographer. I think this one will just need to remain a hobby-at least for now. But I am still very interested in following in the footsteps of Lewis & Clark and photographing along the way for my very own travel photography book. It’s on my list. Till then … I just play.

232323232fp53393nu3235-29wsnrcg3237

Children’s book author
I’ve researched the hell out of this one. Nobody is accepting manuscripts at this time. Well shit, they haven’t been accepting manuscripts for what-the past four years? Whatever. This one is a lost cause unless I self-publish, which I won’t do. I don’t have any art to go with the book anyway … and all experts say you should NOT have a children’s picture book illustrated before farming it out. Big no-no. Guess Sammy will need to wait a bit longer…

dsc_0488

Children’s bookstore owner
I’ve also researched this one to the moon and back. Started a business plan. More than half finished. Not even sure where it is at this point. Probably on the desktop of our old computer that doesn’t want to start up anymore. Might need to start this one from scratch. I’ve actually talked with commercial real estate agents in several areas in several states, have purchased several books on how to start a children’s bookstore business, and also have spoken with the leading experts to possibly attend a Booksellers School. Joined an association (and let the membership expire) and have looked into attending BookExpo. It’s probably one of my biggest obsessions. Got as far as talking with vendors about different types of shelving, flooring, lighting, etc. It has been shelved, so to speak. Blame it on the economy. Blame it on lack of startup funds. Blame it on big box stores and Amazon. But I can’t blame it on lack of GREAT ideas and a kick-butt plan … this one will, one day, see its ribbon cut. Mark my words. (And the name of the store is still my secret.)

dsc_0492

Others
I certainly have other dreams. You know, to win the Pulitzer. To write the next New York Times best-butt-kicking-seller. To raise amazing children who have amazing kids of their own. Boy. I really do have too many big dreams to even list here. But I’m working on them

All of them.

Leave a Reply

