Day 2. With Danny.

Last night sucked. I could not fall asleep, and once I did, I kept waking up.

It was weird being alone. Have you ever noticed how loud “house sounds” are when you are alone, and it’s 2 a.m.? 3 a.m.? 4 a.m.?

Our water heater has always annoyed me. Sometimes it scares the shit out of me, to be honest. It makes this most peculiar sound. Sounds like someone screaming a high-pitched wail. I don’t know how to explain it, really, other than that. Sounds like someone in severe pain or terror. And sometimes, when it kicks on, it makes my heart leap to my throat. That’s how it was last night. Freaked me right out.

This might be a good time to introduce you to Danny.

I’m not sure how to say this without you thinking I’ve totally lost it. But we have a ghost. And his name is Danny.

Danny made his appearance known right about when we moved in, really. I was out-to-here prego when we bought the house, and I always felt something weird at night. Mostly in the same spots in the house-right outside my bedroom door, and what would become the baby’s room.

One day, when our oldest had just learned to sit up on his own, he was sitting in the living room, chewing on plastic toys. I was sitting there with him, on the step that separates our living room from the entryway.

All of a sudden, our little guy is looking up and laughing hysterically and pointing. At first, I thought he was looking at me. But he wasn’t. He was looking past me. And he really seemed, well, engaged.

It was then that I really, really thought I wasn’t going crazy. There really was something else going on. Or someone else.

But I didn’t feel scared. It’s the weirdest thing. I really feel like something is in this house, but it’s not a scary something. It’s just something.

Then, when our little guy wasn’t so little anymore, the freakiest thing happened.

He looked past me again.

He acted like he saw something.

And this time … he called it Danny.

Maybe it was an imaginary friend. But to be honest, he was too young to have one of those.

I’ve read a little about past lives and “ghosts” and whatnot, and I really think there’s something to it all. I think that even though it sounds nuts, it’s not.

So yeah. My boys might be in North Carolina. But I still have Danny.

Right now, Danny and I are listening to Dave Matthews Band-really loud on the Mac-and having some cotton candy.

If nothing else, writing about hanging out with Danny might start a fun rumor that I’ve got a “friend” over while the family is gone.

Leave a Reply

