Bye, bye old life

So, I was telling the kids yesterday that I was bummed that Dave Matthews Band is in Indy this weekend for two shows, and that their dad and I weren’t going to get to go.

Oldest son says, “Why? Have you gone before?”

I said, “Yes. We used to go every year. But it’s sold out. We didn’t get tickets this year.”

“Why didn’t you get tickets?”

“We’d need a sitter … and we just didn’t want to spend the money on that, I guess.”

His reply?

“Well, bye, bye old life. Hello new one.”

He’s 7.

I said, “What’s that supposed to mean?”

“Hello new life.”

“Yeah, what’s that mean?”

“It means that was your old life and now you drive us around and take us places.”

Again, I couldn’t make this up if I tried.

Leave a Reply

